Stages of Change

Five stages of change have been conceptualized for a variety of problem behaviors.

The five stages of change are precontemplation, contemplation, preparation, action, and

Precontemplation is the stage at which there is no intention to change
behavior in the foreseeable future. Many individuals in this stage are unaware or
underaware oftheir problems.

Contemplation is the stage in which people are aware
that a problem exists and are seriously thinking about overcoming it but have not yet
made a commitment to take action.

Preparation is a stage that combines intention and
behavioral criteria. Individuals in this stage are intending to take action in the next
month and have unsuccessfully taken action in the past year.

Action is the stage in which individuals modify their behavior, experiences, or environment in order to
overcome their problems. Action involves the most overt behavioral changes and
requires considerable commitment oftime and energy.

Maintenance is the stage in which people work to prevent relapse and consolidate the gains attained during action.
For addictive behaviors this stage extends from six months to an indeterminate period past the initial action.

As A Therapist it is important to establish the readiness of individuals. By doing so I am better prepared to offer you
those interventions that best suite you rather than using a shot gun of approaches.

When I consider where you really are along the continuum of change, it is my view that you are best served.

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Woolley Web Design-Portland OR Web Design